Steve Gove (TDC), was the guest speaker, who told members about the Highways Rangers.  This is funded by ECC but managed by TDC. to do small Highways jobs.  ECC have to be contacted, to request for work to be done, and they pass this on to TDC.  However, these requests can sometimes get lost in the process. Steve suggested that a named Cllr. or the Clerk, be asked to request work on behalf of other Cllrs., and has given his direct line number.  If a Cllr. is happy to do this, I will give them this number, otherwise Steve could be inundated with individual requests. An information booklet is available for anyone who wishes to have a look. Steve remained for the rest of the meeting, and was able to answer some other queries that arose from matters on the Agenda.

Varying reports of the pros and cons of the recent road car race through Tendring District were discussed.  The meting agreed that TDC be asked to consult with the parishes affected, before the route for next year’s rally is decided upon. The organiser, Tony Clements is to be invited to attend the November TDALC meeting.

The other usual matters were discussed – policing, travellers, litter, etc.

It was also the AGM, and Robert Taylor was re-elected Chairman, Vivien Chapman as Vice-Chairman and Janet Russell as Secretary.

Full Minutes of the meeting are available, for perusal.

Report Potholes

Essex County Council is responsible for highways in and around Brightlingsea. Report potholes directly here.


Most articles on this site feature a "Listen" button - when clicked you will hear the text read back. Make sure your speakers are on and the volume is turned up.


FixMyStreet directs reports of problems with your street, such as failed streetlights, to the correct local authority department.

Discover Brightlingsea

Read the annual town guide produced by the Town Council. 

© Brightlingsea Town Council 2011 – .
Site designed and maintained by Big Red Web Design. Webmaster.

© Brightlingsea Town Council 2011 – .
Site designed and maintained by Big Red Web Design. Webmaster.